A journey of a thousand miles begins with one single step…

360

Okay, so I’ve been willing to start this blog for a while now. I don’t know why I haven’t, there is actually no excuses. I guess I needed a little push.

Well so here it goes:

My journey down under began on the 16th February 2010, where I waved my family goodbye at Stockholm Arlanda Airport. I had my whole life packed in three bags and it all weighed about 32kg (12 kg of overweight). I was lucky, the lady at check-in did not complain or demand access luggage charges. I guess she saw how nervous I was and felt sorry for me or she was simply a friendly soul.

And so I boarded the airplane, and what now awaited me was a 40 hour journey until I’d reach my final destination. I was literally travelling to the end of the world. It was scary but exciting, I didn’t really know what to expect. The first flight was about 2 hours. I flew to Heathrow, England with British Airways. I had a 5 hour stopover which dragged on and almost felt like 10 hours. My next flight was about 12 hours, I boarded Cathay Pacific Airlines and flew to Hong Kong. I had a 6 hour wait and then boarded the airplane a third time and flew for another 12 hours and landed in Cairns. I had one last wait for about 3 hours and then I boarded the airplane for one last time. After about 3 hours flight I finally landed in Brisbane Airport.

My feet finally touched the ground as the heat brushed my face. It felt like stepping into a sauna and as if my face was gonna melt. My body must have had a temperature chock. Coming from -20 degrees to +30 degrees.

Today, it has been 3 years and 5 days since I arrived in Paradise. It was definitely not easy leaving my comfort zone, but so worth it.

Leave a Reply

